yarn along

Joining Ginny in her Yarn Along over at Small Things.

The shawl is almost off the needles. I had hoped to finish it last night after the kids went to bed. What, 30 rows and casting off was too much to expect at 11pm at night? Yes, indeed it was and as I became more tired I found myself missing increases, not realizing it until 20 stitches later, and having to rip back and fix it. If I have learned anything in my 5 short years of knitting it’s to stop and put whatever I am working on down when I start to make silly mistakes, especially when I am extra tired, as it’s only a recipe for an assured, and rather frustrating, disaster.

DSCN9723

Luckily, I already cast on my next project over a month ago (does anyone else do this? I always start my next project before the last one is done as if the world would come to an end if something wasn’t lying around the house sitting on a set of needles), a Honey Cowl using a delicious hank of Madelinetosh Merino Light which I snuck in splurged on after stumbling upon it while shopping for yarn to use on the few holiday presents that I was planning to make last December. It was the only hank left in the amazing colorway of Earl Gray and I just couldn’t leave it sitting there, all sad and lonely like, on the yarn shop shelf now could I?

DSCN9732

I brought my new find home, immediately put it on the swift, wound it and tried to decide what to make with it. I had a very difficult time finding a pattern due to the fact that I only had the single hank, so larger projects were out of the running. I didn’t want to use it on something for the babes because they always, oddly enough, outgrow their hand knits (I know, how dare they) which are then tucked away in the hope chest for their little ones to wear someday. This yarn was too gorgeous to be worn for mere months and so I decided to make something for myself, something I rarely do, although you wouldn’t know it looking at the two projects that I have shared here with you.

DSCN9731

I am probably pushing the yardage I have to complete a large size Honey Cowl but I really wanted something simple that would highlight the beauty of the yarn (I think any intricate stitch work would have detracted from it) and I was really in the mood for a simple, quick knit that didn’t necessarily require a lot of attention while I worked on it. Apparently, I will also be needing a nice cozy cowl by the end of this week as today’s 50 degree weather is soon going to be replaced with snow and below freezing temperatures, yet again.

DSCN9724

While I sit and knit I pulled Keeping Bees by Ashley English off the shelf to thumb through because we finally have a local and natural beekeeper (thanks to a recent trip to our local food co-op and a quick and serendipitous perusing of their ever helpful bulletin board) coming this weekend to talk to us about our bee situation.* See, ever since we have moved in we have had a hive that took residence in the wall of our main livestock barn, which also happens to be located right at the gate to entering the hops yard. Consequently, Dad was stung at least three times last summer, just walking through the gate, and Kevin and I ended up spending a lot of our time, down there, shooing the kids away from the spot. Bees have always been on our ever growing homestead agenda but no one here has any experience or practical knowledge and we have had an extremely hard time find someone local willing to guide us. We have no interest in killing off an entire, and apparently perfectly healthy, hive but they obviously can’t stay where they are. Ideally we would just like to gently relocate them to a better spot on the property that is safe for both them and us, while also being able to harvest some honey in the near future.

DSCN9691

Hopefully come next fall we will be the proud stewards of a honeybee hive that looks less like this one…

DSCN9735

and more like this one!

What are you knitting, crafting, and reading this week?

*The irony of this post and the unintended relationship between my knitting, reading and weekend plans does not elude me. However, it was completely unintentional and I didn’t even realize it until I had finished writing the post. Let’s chalk up my delayed realization to not having had a full night of sleep in over four years. That, and for quite a while now, I have had honey (and all things honeybee for that matter) on the brain, so maybe I unconsciously conjured the current theme of life here on the farm! 😉

8 thoughts on “yarn along

  1. Wish you were in Ct. I buy my honey from a local bee keeper and he tells me a new story every time I go to get honey about moving hives. I had no idea you can do that! With so many people being aware the dire straits bees are in they no longer kill the bees they move them 🙂 You should check around your area, I’m sure someone up there knows how to relocate bees, good luck!!!

    • Yes! The beekeeper who is coming here this weekend said she would tried to help us move them and figure out a way to keep them on the property. Everyone else in the area that we talked to wanted us to pay them to remove them and then let them take and keep the bees for free or kill them 😦 I would hate to spend money to ship in bees for a hive of our own when we seem to have perfectly good ones here already.

  2. I had the same sort of synergetic feeling doing my post this week too – not realising how closely meshed all my interests clearly are just now! I think it’s a beautiful thing, when things come together organically in this sort of way. Also I think your yarn and knitting (and bees!) are completely exquisite.

    • Thank you. I think it must have to do with finding your path in life and following it. Like you said, it just organically follows that everything ends up being interconnected. 🙂

  3. I’m a brand new knitter, I’m continuing my struggle this week with my very first knitting project, a scarf I started in November! I work on it for a few days, then get busy with other things and by the time I get back to it I’ve forgotten how to purl, or I can’t tell whether to knit or purl the next row, etc. It’s slow going but I’ll get there. What am I reading? The Year of the Goat by Margaret Hathaway.

    • Ah yes, that is how knitting went for me in the beginning also. Then one day it all clicks and you’re off! 🙂 Last year I decided to teach my self how to knit continental style and it was like starting over from scratch. Glad you stopped by and lead me over to your space. I hope to sit down soon with a hot cup of chai and look around, especially at your gorgeous photos. Good luck with your knitting!

Leave a Reply

