eggs, eggs, everywhere

I LOVE eggs! My favorite breakfast, of all time, is Eggs Benedict but I will eat them any way I can get them. When I was pregnant with PJ my major craving in the second trimester was scrambled eggs. At first they were the only thing I could keep down as I emerged from the awful period that was the first trimester of my first pregnancy. I ate them every day, sometimes for both breakfast and lunch, until other foods began to sound appetizing again.

DSCN9592

When we first came here the thing I looked forward to the most was getting our laying hens. Being able to walk outside and collect all the eggs we could eat, for only a fraction of the store bought price, was quite exciting. Not to mention, our eggs would be healthier and more nutritious than eggs sourced from conventional or even large organic conglomerate (and supposedly pastured) farms. The day we got our first egg (a brown one) I was excited. The day we got our first Americauna egg, well then, then I was ecstatic. Not only are they tasty and good for us but they are cheery to look at. I will never tire of all the different sizes, shapes, hues and speckles or the unexpected excitement of perusing the nest boxes, gently nudging the lazier hens out of the way, to find what they have to offer us both morning and night.

DSCN9620

Unfortunately, we are having a similar problem to the Great Tomato Influx of 2012…instead this time we are drowning in eggs. Yes, I see a recurring theme of me, getting overly excited about each new venture, dreaming a smidgen too big, over extending us in the process and then having more of a yield then we can reasonably use. Humph! Thanks for passing that characteristic down to me Dad. Originally we had intended to sell eggs but have had a hard time finding a large enough outlet to sell all that the girls can lay, minus what we can use ourselves. Even though we have shut off the lights in the coop, and spring has most definitely not arrived around these parts, we still have dozens of eggs leftover and the girls continue to lay about a dozen every three days, even without their extended daylight conditions. So I have searched the internet for every egg using recipe I can find. We eat egg salad often. Inhale deviled eggs 2 dozen at a time. I make all forms of custard desserts on a fairly regular basis. I’ve become a pusher of scrambled eggs, eggs over easy and poached eggs for breakfast and try to throw in a Quiche or Strata for dinner at least once a week. I am not “egged out” yet (probably never will be) but the rest of the crew seems to be over them. If all else fails, and we don’t get to them before they start to turn, they are destined for the pigs’ slop bucket. Seems like a waste of good eggs to me!

DSCN9624

I need inspiration. I need recipes. I need someone to buy all of these darn eggs!

DSCN9608

What recipes can you share that would use a boatload of eggs? Because a boatload is most certainly what I’ve got.

13 thoughts on “eggs, eggs, everywhere

  1. Your eggs are so pretty! I was hoping to read lots of comments with suggestions for using your eggs as we’re in the same position. I usually end up having a big cake making session to use up the eggs and put the cakes in the freezer.
    Why is it that in the depths of winter when we have very few eggs I read recipes that call for 8 eggs and now I want to use them the recipes only need one or two?

    • Thank you! You are so right, back when we were buying eggs from the grocer, or other farms, it seemed like I was always one egg short for what ever recipe I was making! Now I always have 50 more than I need, haha. 😉

  2. They look beautiful don’t they, I can’t believe you can’t get anyone to take them off your hands, I’d have thought farmers markets would be grateful to snap them up, assuming you have them in America, how about selling them at the roadside.
    Failing that, a massive frittata would use up a few, and you could have it cold for lunch the next day..

    you could also make a clear stock and use a few whites to clarify it..

    • Our winter farmers market actually had to close down because their rent was raised too high. We do have a sign at the road but I’m afraid that our below freezing temperatures may be keeping people from stopping. Hopefully things will get better when spring comes. And now I’m off to make a frittata! 😉

  3. Pingback: My girls | Shewolfinthevalley

  4. I think we have the same mix of chickens. I love the light and dark browns with the blue. Art in itself. We don’t have too much trouble finding folks to buy our eggs, but when we have an overflow I’ve made brioche which takes tons of eggs (not heart healthy, but SOOOOO delicious). Omelets, quiche, spongy cakes…. lemon curd.

  5. My suggestions for using all those eggs up – homemade mayo, custard pie or pudding, cream puffs, and quiche. We have this problem from time to time too. Lately, the girls got into the bad habit of breaking them before we could remove them from their boxes. We had to give them more freedom than we’d like to during the day and it’s helped. Egg production is back on track! They must get cabin fever just like we do 🙂 Have you ever pickled eggs??

    • I have never pickled them before but a few others have also suggested it, so maybe I should give it a go. Mayo making is actually on the to do list for this week!

  6. Pingback: freer ranging chickens | big house, little prairie

Leave a Reply

