desperately seeking spring

photo-34

This time last year it was 70 degrees outside. Unseasonably warm you say? Well yes, but none the less fantastic. We spent last March plowing up the vegetable garden and the hops yard, giving us quite a jumpstart on our spring farming. This year doesn’t look nearly as promising.

photo-33

I have started seeds inside, followed the kids outside every time the sun chooses to grace us with its presence and have completely given up trying to fight the allure of the cut tulips and daffodils that are strategically placed in the supermarket. I’m ready for spring. I need to get outside, with the kids in tow, feeling the sun warming my back as I plant…hum, what? Honestly, anything would do right about now! It doesn’t matter, I just need to get digging. I’m itching to watch little baby lambs running and jumping in the lush green grass and I need to eat that luscious yellow butter and cream that only comes after Lilac spends time munching on the late spring pastures. We have even scheduled shearing for this coming Friday (the only time the shearers will be in this part of the state). It’s supposed to be 35 degrees and snowing! Poor shearers, poor us and poor, cold and soon to be fleece-less sheep.

photo-27

photo-29

Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for winter, for all the seasons really, because they each have their purpose. For now I will occupy myself with a few more things that I had hoped to accomplish before winter’s end, which all seem to keep making their way to the back burner. So, in that spirit, here is my late winter “To Do” list…

I swear that, while I patiently wait for spring’s arrival, I will:

-Finish the farm’s business website.

-Place our berry and orchard order so it’s ready for spring pickup.

-Continue starting seeds inside, maybe throwing some micro-greens/sprouts into the mix to use while we wait for the garden’s bounty to arrive.

-Heft my spinning wheel to the neighbors to get some tips (and schedule in some practice time), before I am swimming in roving made from our sheeps’ fleeces and have no idea how to process it.

-Finally get our sourdough starter…well, started.

-Setup a batch of Kombucha to ferment before the warmer weather hits.

-Enjoy the time left inside before the majority of our days shift to our outside duties.

photo-30

How do you fight the end-of-winter blues and what are you up to while waiting for spring’s arrival?

10 thoughts on “desperately seeking spring

    • Had a few days of sunshine last week. We are in western New York State…we are also back to freezing temps and snow for at least the next 10 days. seems as though it will never end!

  1. I know Spring has already started, I’ve seen Snow Drops and Crocus blooming and Robins looking for worms, so I’ve been planning the garden and trying to imagine how it will look 🙂

  2. I’m with you…can’t wait for it to warm up! Where I am, we have been up and down in temperature…70s for a couple days then back to the 30s! Normally we are warmer by now, so I keep trying to plant seeds and then we get lows in the 20s and they all rot! I’m about to give up and just start them inside for once.

    • It’s been such a tease this year hasn’t it? And lately, even if we wake up to sun streaming in the windows, it’s still frigid when we step outside!

Leave a Reply

