happy sheep shearing day

DSCN9837

Today was shearing day here at the farm. Our twenty ovine friends got a trim bright and early this morning. All were fairly cooperative and the entire process took just over two hours. It was also 27 degrees and blowing snow, not exactly the spring weather we had hoped for on such an occasion. Consequently, everyone will be staying in the barn where they will stay dry and out of the wind until our weather improves a bit.

DSCN9818

Here is Miss. Dessie (one of our favorite and friendliest ladies) before shearing.

DSCN9850

And here she is after her hair cut. I think I spy a baby belly.

DSCN9846

They look so different without their fleece!

DSCN9847

Hannah is looking at Kevin, possibly wondering why we would do such an embarrassing thing to her?

DSCN9854

And the most mortified of all, the boys. Can’t you tell by the look on Zeke’s face that he is not happy with us?

We also uncovered more than a few large udders while removing all that fleece of their’s, leading us to believe that all seven ewes in this year’s breeding plan will grace us with at least one lamb each over the next month. Now we just wait and see!

I have twenty garbage bags of our very own wool to skirt, wash and process into roving. Let the fun begin! πŸ™‚

Happy weekend!

12 thoughts on “happy sheep shearing day

    • Me either! This year most of the fleece will probably be sent out and turned into rovings for me to spin. My neighbor and I talked about maybe picking one special fleece to hold back and process from start to finish so I can say I really did the entire process myself.

    • It was the funniest thing to watch them go from huge puff balls, to naked with oversized heads for their body. Oh, farm life entertainment at its best! πŸ˜‰

  1. Laura, I’m not convinced spring is ever going to arrive! I can imagine it’s a bit chilly for the sheep at this point. I know you will post pic of your babies when the arrive – right??? Glad your mission is accomplished πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! If you are ever in the market for Shetlands I would be happy to help. πŸ˜‰ I taught myself to knit about five years ago and everything sheep related snowballed from there, lol. I can’t wait to get my hands on some rovings made from our fleece…Shetland is supposed to be super soft, yet very strong. Here’s hoping! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Sheep shearing – for my city slicker friends!! | suletta

Leave a Reply

