december 3rd- {gather}

D7K_5887
It’s no surprise that one of my favorite things about this farm life of ours is keeping laying hens.

I also love the routine of going out to collect eggs in the morning and opening up the coop for day.

Any day that starts by collecting breakfast right out of your backyard is going to be a good one!

*Everyday this December I am striving to post a picture-a-day in the hopes of capturing the little moments that may seem ordinary at the time but, when strung together throughout this naturally hectic month, become the extraordinary ones that keep me ground until the new year. If you want to join me go here. I would love to share in your days as well. 

11 thoughts on “december 3rd- {gather}

  1. How wonderful! In the snow even. I can’t imagine. Although for a while my in-laws who live directly next door to us in our Suburban neighborhood, they had hens (illegally) for a while. I LOVED the eggs we got. I wanted to take them over but motorcycle man wouldn’t consider the extra work by taking them over. Today when I saw the word was gather I talked it out with my last born only girl and we had the same first and second thoughts exactly. We first thought gathering of people, then second we thought of gathering leafs. I’m not sure what my gather will be yet but I sure love yours. (sorry so wordy)

  2. Not that I like collecting them as much as you do, but I sure do love eating them! Farm eggs are always better than store bought eggs… unless the “chick incident” happens… Anyway, like the pic, and I’m very jealous that your hens are still laying!

      • Yeah, we are getting 1 egg every 4 days! When we had 25 hens, they layed throughout the entire Winter and we NEVER ran out of eggs. Now, with our puny little number of 5 hens, I can’t expect much. 😉 We are having to buy store bought eggs, EW! 🙂

Leave a Reply

