december 12th- {decoration}

D7K_6154

After days and days of PJ reminding me that we had not yet made this year’s gingerbread house I decided to clear this morning’s schedule and help them do it.

Around here, the (unintentional) theme of this year has been “letting go.” I have been reminding myself of this while we prepare for the holidays, not only to conserve the energy I do have on any given day, but to release all of the pressure and just let the kids do as much as they can to help prepare for the season.

This year we followed the kids lead with decorating the annual gingerbread house, placing only the icing and letting them do the rest.

My favorite part is the Tootsie Roll firewood pile.

They have now moved on to placing the ornaments on the tree. The bottom two feet look fantastic! 😉

It’s all just right!

*Everyday this December I am striving to post a picture-a-day in the hopes of capturing the little moments that may seem ordinary at the time but, when strung together throughout this naturally hectic month, become the extraordinary ones that keep me ground until the new year. If you want to join me go here. I would love to share in your days as well. 

6 thoughts on “december 12th- {decoration}

  1. This is absolutely beautiful and so true. Sometimes we just have to stop what we’re doing no matter what and just give our kids that time they so need from us. I absolutely love Capturing December Laura. And thank you for following my blog. Yay. I have a 2 followers. haha. I have managed to do a post for Decoration. Yippee! Here it is. http://fourcalders.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/day-10/?preview=true&preview_id=79&preview_nonce=7e2aa622c4&post_format=standard

    • Thank you Cathie! So glad you
      joined in!! I love seeing everyone’s December moments. If you are on Instagram there are a few
      ladies over there joining in too. I’m bighouselittleprairie over there as well.

  2. Your girls are very adorable! The house great, I especially love the logs with snow in between, so CUTE. I’m curious about the wreath behind them, is it a countdown to Christmas, it looks cool. I still love the color of your walls.

    • Thank you, as always, friend.

      The one on the right in the picture is our son PJ. Everyone, when they first meet him, mistakes him for a girl and he says “it’s okay, I get it all the time! 😉 he decided a few years ago to grow it out to get rockstar hair.

      The wreath is a countdown to Christmas for the kids. It’s round, numbered boxes and in each is an ornament that they get to hang on their miniature tree, which sits on a table in our living room. The last box contains the tree topper.

  3. opps! I should know better. One of my best friends has a beautiful boy with long, long gorgeous hair and when I’m out with her I notice he gets mistaken for a girl and I think “he clearly is a boy…because I know him you see” PJ is quite adorable. Plus my two boys have had some pretty long locks. sigh….now I know!

Leave a Reply

