embrace- January 24th

Embrace.

20140123-233736.jpg

That is what I want 2014 to be all about. I need to get past looking for perfection, for everything to happen at just the right moment, in just the right way. So, I’m going to actively work at embracing it all.

Truth is, with a change in life circumstances I can’t expect for things to always go the way I want. The nature of this disease of mine is the proverbial crap shoot (at least for now while we are still figuring it all out.) One morning I can wake up feeling like a million bucks and the next I can be zombie. So it is imperative that I change my mindset. I’m not someone who has ever been able to go with the flow, now, the current of life is getting even stronger and I am no longer capable of fighting against it.

Every week  month I would like to come here and jot down a little list (hey, have I ever told you how much I love lists? 😉 ) and work at the practice of embracing it all. If I check in here, with all of you, it will help to keep me on the path of moving forward and gaining perspective.

Great! So, now that you have agreed, here it goes…

::All of my people got sick this past week (as did the dog). Thankfully, it was staggered (except for the dog). It helped me realize how lucky I am and just how much Kevin does on a daily basis. None of this would ever work without a partner like him.

::Also, the dog never had an accident in the house and she has mastered ringing the bells by the door to let us know when she needs to go out. Major win! She is feeling much better now, by the way.

::While Kevin was sick I got some one-on-one alone time with each of the kids. It still amazes me how different the interaction can be when all of your attention can be focused on to just one of them. While there were moments that were exceptionally hard, I loved hanging out with them and doing nothing else. I think we will be scheduling more of that into our daily lives now, especially solo dates between all of us.

::This past week, as many of the farm animals moved on to their new homes, I realized I was feeling a little more relief each time I watched tail lights leave the barn driveway. Everyone who has picked up animals seems more than nice and totally invested in giving each of their new charges a good and comfortable existence.

::I found a local organic CSA about 10 minutes from us. They offer an excellent variety of fruit and veg (except for potatoes.) If we do decided to buy a share, or two, we will only have to plant a few things in one of our 4 garden plots- giving us an opportunity to compost the remaining three heavily and amend the soil, which will pay off in a few years when we can get back to the business of growing all our own.

::With all the tending to the sick, which forced all plans that would have taken us outside of the house to go on hold, I was able to finish another Fair Isle hat, this one for PJ.

::In our attempt to whittle down the livestock count we decided to cull 4 sheep and take them to our local butcher. It was a hard decision, one we did not take lightly and something we were not thrilled with having to hire out. However, I am grateful that soon we will have a freezer full of lamb, especially since our stock of beef and venison will be gone at the end of this week.

::Our week of convalescence also afforded me a lot of time to sit and think. I was forced to be still (with the exception of rocking one sick kid or the other) and work through all the things that have been swirling around my head for a weeks now. There is still more I need to sort out but, for now, I am riding the momentum and moving forward- as opposed to wallowing in the stagnation I had felt a couple of weeks ago.

And now, I leave you with this face. Happy Friday. Here’s to embracing it all next week!

D7K_6633

What did you embrace this week? Leave a comment and share, you just might inspire another lovely soul. 🙂

6 thoughts on “embrace- January 24th

  1. Wow, it sounds like things have been busy at your homestead! I love how you are embracing the changes, and I commend your bravery and strength 🙂 It’s never easy having to change with the tides of life, but it can be easier than constantly trying to swim upstream too. I am sending you lots of support and positivity as you make these changes! I’m excited for your monthly check-in’s.

    PS – Did you paint the ‘Embrace’ picture at the top? If so, you are one talented lady! That’s beautiful.

    • Thank you for the vibes, Caitlin. They are always welcome! Yes, I did draw the picture but it’s just done with sharpie markers, nothing fancy. I call it therapeutic doodling. 😉

  2. Love your attitude! We can’t do much about what comes to us, but we have absolute control over how we meet it. You are setting a great example for us, but even more for your kids, your family and friends.

    Love that picture, too. I’ve worked on ‘acceptance’ for a long time; but I can see that ’embracing’ is ramping it up a step. Way to go! ~ Linne

    • Thanks so much, Linne. I’m still working on my acceptance day to day. Some times I do great, others not as much! Your encouragement means so much! 🙂

  3. oh my gosh! that face!!! I’m here, I’m here I will be here cheering you on from afar. I like you so much and I love what you share here. Your word embrace is a realy great one. I think when we do stuff like, this, I call it living with intention then the way we deal with our circumstances just seems every so slightly easier. You are a great artist! I love what you did there.

Leave a Reply

